May 31st, '18, 01:41

Tea and Pesticides, Soil Pollutants

by lemmiwinks » May 31st, '18, 01:41

Because I’m still very new to tea collecting and drinking, it was only this week that I thought to research some of the health implications of drinking tea regularly. Mostly good news- lower blood pressure, antioxidants, etc- but I also read some things about high levels of lead and other heavy metals plus very toxic and carcinogenic pesticides found in some teas at disturbingly high levels.

As a newcomer to everything tea, I feel crushed to learn that my new hobby and obsession could potentially be damaging to my health. I have some questions that I hope those with more expertise can help with:

1. Have any of these studies been replicated successfully, or were there just a few conducted showing very high levels of contaminants? It is hard for me to tell from the rather sensational-sounding articles that all seem to quote the same handful of studies whether to take the claims seriously or not.

2. If even the label ‘organic’ doesn’t mean a product will necessarily be free of dangerous heavy metals or pesticides, as some of the articles claim, how does one go about finding tea free from these contaminants? Does such a tea exist?

3. Are there any trustworthy sources for pesticide free, heavy-metal free loose leaf tea that you can recommend?

Jun 4th, '18, 17:41

Re: Tea and Pesticides, Soil Pollutants

by Puerh3 » Jun 4th, '18, 17:41

lemmiwinks wrote: Because I’m still very new to tea collecting and drinking, it was only this week that I thought to research some of the health implications of drinking tea regularly. Mostly good news- lower blood pressure, antioxidants, etc- but I also read some things about high levels of lead and other heavy metals plus very toxic and carcinogenic pesticides found in some teas at disturbingly high levels.