New to Pu-Erh with a couple questions

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Sep 25th, '19, 18:17

New to Pu-Erh with a couple questions

by bstacy19 » Sep 25th, '19, 18:17

Hi-

I'm new to Pu-Erh, have ordered some but haven't actually had it yet. Waiting for it and my tea pot to arrive. :D

I've read up on it a bit, and am trying to figure out what would be the best storage option for us would be. I don't think we (hubby and I) would ever go super-purist on it, but we would like to treat the tea as correctly as we can without going to extremes. Right now it is a toss up between the top shelf of a sliding door closet (with it open on the far side) in the game room, which has a 75 gallon freshwater fish tank (which I think would help buff humidity if it gets too dry?)- or on top of the bookshelf in our bedroom, which has 1 regular sized north facing window, so not much light at all, and no direct sunlight. We live in Indiana, and have humidifiers for when it gets too dry in the winter (hardly used them last winter, we used to live in Wisconsin, lol). It looks like the average monthly humidity here does keep within the 50% to 75% range. We generally keep the house temp between 68-72 F.

Also, I haven't seen anything about if I would be able to store a Pu Erh cake for several years, but breaking off chunks every so often to use. I ordered the 7 tea Shou sample pack from Crimson Lotus, and was thinking about ordering full cakes of our favorites and let them age a bit, sampling every now and then, adding new cakes to our collection/rotation every now and then. Is it OK to do this?

Thanks!

Sep 28th, '19, 08:39

Re: New to Pu-Erh with a couple questions

by mr mopu » Sep 28th, '19, 08:39

Shou won't change much since it is an already finished process. I would just buy mylar bags and store it in there. Sheng is another animal altogether since it will actually change quite a bit over time.

Sep 29th, '19, 05:35

by 12Tea » Sep 29th, '19, 05:35