The Basic History of Tea

For general/other topics related to tea.

May 18th, '20, 13:45

The Basic History of Tea

by umijoshi » May 18th, '20, 13:45

It's not exactly Pulitzer prize winning writing, but I am not totally unsatisfied with this:

If you would rather watch a video of me talking than reading this, a fair amount of this article is presented as a video. I’m new to making videos, it kind of sucks, there’s no fancy editing. The article is much more in-depth. Choose your own adventure!
(if you end up watching the video, turning on subtitles is a great idea)

Part 1: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkI8S5FPs08
Part 2: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDlzDiSMuFM

There’s something I want to touch on before we begin: Tea was invented before most modern countries existed. It’s only for convenience that we attribute origins the origins of tea to China, coffee from Ethiopia, and though a bit different — chocolate to Mexico.

There’s something I want to touch on before we begin: Tea was invented before most modern countries existed. It’s only for convenience that we attribute origins the origins of tea to China, coffee from Ethiopia, and though a bit different — chocolate to Mexico.

I mean, if you apply the political landscape of 2020 to the days of the past, then geographically all of that is true. But to a lot of people (myself included) knowing the slightly deeper history about things is a way we can appreciate them more. One of the legends of Chinese tea is that in 53BC a Chinese man went to India to study Buddhism. He returned to China with tea bushes and planted them on Mount Meng near the kingdom of Shu (These days a small area in the center of Sichuan province, Western China.) Tea as a beverage was conceived in Sichuan as ‘brick tea’ in a style similar to Pu’erh tea from Yunnan, but the fine green, red, and oolongs teas as we know them today are more of a South Eastern Chinese thing from around Fujian.