Oct 1st, '22, 14:37

Kettle doesn't have correct settings for my teas

by magicbob » Oct 1st, '22, 14:37

Hi -

I am new at becoming serious about my tea and recently bought a highly rated kettle with many settings but the settings don't match the settings required on the Adagio teas I purchased.

For example, The Mocha Nut Mate setting is 150F.

The closest settings on my kettle are 140 and 158.

I purchased this kettle specifically for black teas that need less than a boiling temperature which I can manage just with my usual whistling kettle.

Some other teas also don't match it's settings exactly.

So I am thinking if I can't set the accurate temp listed on each tea (in some cases) do I really need a kettle like this?

Should I just get a water temperature thermometer, let it whistle, take it off the stove and then check the temp in a certain amount of time later? How much later?

Thanks for your help.

Bob

Oct 3rd, '22, 10:04

Re: Kettle doesn't have correct settings for my teas

by Bridgette » Oct 3rd, '22, 10:04

magicbob wrote: Hi -

I am new at becoming serious about my tea and recently bought a highly rated kettle with many settings but the settings don't match the settings required on the Adagio teas I purchased.

I purchased this kettle specifically for black teas that need less than a boiling temperature which I can manage just with my usual whistling kettle.

So I am thinking if I can't set the accurate temp listed on each tea (in some cases) do I really need a kettle like this?

Should I just get a water temperature thermometer, let it whistle, take it off the stove and then check the temp in a certain amount of time later? How much later?

Thanks for your help.

Bob
Hey Bob! You can compensate different steeping times to adjust for different temperatures. For example, for the mate - instead of 150 for 3-5 minutes, you could do 158 for 3-4 minutes to your taste.