I'm a newbie

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Sep 7th, '10, 15:51
Scrolling: scrolling

I'm a newbie

by Christopher » Sep 7th, '10, 15:51

So, I'm 19 years old, and am a beginner in the tea/Pu-erh experience you could say, however I've taken a liken to it. I've read a lot about how important it is to get legit Pu-erh to get quality. Since I am young, I would also love to buy some to age for the next section of my life. So what I would love is some advice on where to look for quality Pu-erh and also what determines the quality so I don't get junk and ripped off. Thanks a lot

Sep 7th, '10, 18:03

Re: I'm a newbie

by debunix » Sep 7th, '10, 18:03

If you're just starting off iwth puerh, the best thing to do is NOT start trying to buy fancy stuff, but to stick with small samples to start: I tend to brew my puerh in small volume containers and am content with 1-5 grams per set of infusions. And because each tea may be infused 5-15 times, I can do a lot of experimenting with a 15-25 gram sample.

So....start with samples, don't buy a lot of beengs to start, and see what *you* like. I started with some rather plain ripe puerhs, and bought too much of them, because now I prefer more select ripe pus, but also some rather young and boisterous shengs (fortunately for the budget!).

Sep 7th, '10, 18:32

by Proinsias » Sep 7th, '10, 18:32

Hi Christopher.

Welcome to the board!

Pretty much what deunix said. The pu'er vendors section might be worth a look. If you're in the US, I'll take a gamble, then Jas-eTea do starter packs and sample packs - I hear Steve there is very helpful if you wish to contact hime direct, he's a member here but I can't recall his user name. Hou de is worth a look if you want to try something that little bit older and fancier.

Another tip for any aspiring pu collector is to keep an eye on these two blogs:
The Half Dipper
A Tea Addict's Journal

Have fun

What are you brewing in?

Sep 7th, '10, 18:38