How to prevent insects infesting puerh storage?

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Oct 20th, '10, 09:27

by auhckw » Oct 20th, '10, 09:27

Will insects nest in puerh?

What kinds of insects?

Oct 20th, '10, 11:40

Re: How to prevent insects infesting puerh storage?

by Sirwill » Oct 20th, '10, 11:40

I do know that insects might infest pu'erh, but I do not know which kind.
The best way to prevent insect infestation is to store it in a canister of some sort, usually yixing or earthenware.
That should do the trick if you are alright with dry storage.

As far as wet storage goes I have no experience, but I would just make sure the environment that you store the tea in is clean and all of the cakes are well wrapped in breathable paper.

Oct 20th, '10, 20:01
Scrolling: scrolling

by Drax » Oct 20th, '10, 20:01

From the stuff I've read, the idea of tea having insect-repellent types of compounds comes up more frequently (that is, insects will tend not to be drawn to the tea).

I only recall maybe one story about some insects... but I don't remember where.

I have seen pictures of insects IN tea, but I think they were part of the picking and processing, and it's not clear they were consuming the tea.

But given all that, I think to the hundreds of pictures I've seen of open warehouses and shops with tea everywhere. Insects don't appear to be a problem there...

Oct 20th, '10, 22:39

by wyardley » Oct 20th, '10, 22:39

I think this happens mostly in a very humid environment. I have personally experienced tea that's had some critters in it (some of them still moving) - see an older thread on this same forum.

While some bugs do eat the tea itself, many will feed also (or instead) on the paper or bamboo wrappers.

And then, of course, there's the infamous poo puer.

Oct 21st, '10, 07:42

by Drax » Oct 21st, '10, 07:42