Yixing tea pot help

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Oct 27th, '18, 20:40

Yixing tea pot help

by Jrowlands » Oct 27th, '18, 20:40

Hey everyone is there anything special I need to know when looking for a yixing tea pot for puerh tea. I'm new to puerh tea and have fallen in love with it, I really want to get a tea pot but I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed.

Nov 3rd, '18, 16:08

Re: Yixing tea pot help

by 12Tea » Nov 3rd, '18, 16:08

• Price: Go for something between 90-200 USD for you first Yixing. If you go cheaper, it probably won't be great.
  • Capacity: Go for something around 100-150ml if it's for 1-2p, Go for around 200-250ml if it's for more people
  • Appearance: Important as well, just go for what you like. Let the seller make more pics if you're not sure.
  • Clay type: I wouldn't be bothered too much with this at first, go for a colour you like. If you do,
  • Pouring: Make sure the teapot pours good, ask the seller how many holes the strainer inside the spout consists of
  • Certificate: as the seller if the teapot is accompanied with a certificate of the maker. And check if the teapot is stamped with the seal of the maker. Ask the seller if the maker is an certified tea artist by the Chinese authorities

Nov 5th, '18, 00:43

by bagua7 » Nov 5th, '18, 00:43

12Tea wrote: Dedicate the Yixing teapot only to one kind of tea.
Another urban myth.

I am constantly mixing pots for various teas and see no difference or whatsoever. But I don't brew a Taiwan mountain oolong in a zi ni pot because it kills the flavour.

Zi ni is probably the ideal clay for puer.

You can start with either of the two shuipings listed at the top:

https://www.chawangshop.com/tea-hardwar ... apots.html
Last edited by bagua7 on Nov 5th, '18, 00:51, edited 1 time in total.

Nov 5th, '18, 00:47

by FBee » Nov 5th, '18, 00:47

Same as this one:
12Tea wrote: