How to Pu?

One of the intentionally aged teas, Pu-Erh has a loyal following.

Apr 25th, '09, 15:47

How to Pu?

by Phenixmirage » Apr 25th, '09, 15:47

I'm a newbie tea enthusiast getting interested in Pu's, but so far my only experience has been Rishi's Pu-erh Ginger. It's been tasty, but now I'd like to try something more "authentic." All those big tea cakes look a bit daunting when just starting out though, so....

What sort of equipment should I have to get the must out of pu-erh without doing an entire gong-fu ceremony? I understand I should at least get a gaiwan, but do I need anything else? Should I get one of those picks/bamboo knives for prying apart pu-erh?

I'm not familiar with gong-fu style brewing, any tips or pointers toward simple, easy to understand instructions are appreciated. :) Also, how good/bad is western-style brewing for a pu-erh?

Pu-erh iced tea, worthwhile or wasteful? hot brew or cold brew?

Thanks, I appreciate any help given. :)

Apr 25th, '09, 15:55

by shogun89 » Apr 25th, '09, 15:55

Alright, welcome first of all. You asked many questions that could be written about for pages but I will try to knock it out as quickly as possible.

First off, you will want to buy yourself a gaiwan and possibly a yixing (about 130-150 ml.) not necessary but recommended, buy a cheap one like $12, thats what I do and they work fine. Next you are going to want some quality puerh. Check out this site.
www.puerhshop.com
On here, I would get a few cakes, yes cakes not samples as you need to learn a tea and a sample will not allow you to do that. So pick up a sheng and a shu, if you want some tips on which to get just ask.